Well you need a blue sky holiday

You ever have one of those weeks where it feels like everything that can go wrong, does? Well, that is my week.

Problem numero uno:  college.  Not only did I miss the philosophy exam 2 last week due to illness, but now I also have the wonderful opportunity to make it up immediately after the final… yay me.  Don’t get me wrong, I am SO glad I am able to retake it; however, a four hour long philosophy party is not exactly my idea of a good time.

I also turned in a blank set of questions for my philosophy homework this morning.  I tried to prove to the professor that I had it done before class by screen-shotting the last edited time on the document pulled up right in front of the correct document.  I emailed him the completed questions, too, of course.  Fingers crossed that it works because I’ve already missed one assignment in there.

I am also dreadfully behind in my other 2 classes.  Computer science and management. In management, I found out that I most likely took the WRONG TEST at midterms.  I took the final exam…so I have a very low score on that final.  Who knows if I’ll be able to fix that, AND I have a 4 out of 100 recorded for the midterm.  That’s right folks, a 4.  That’s a new personal record, previous one being an 8 out of 100 I got when taking an online test and the internet access failed at the very beginning of it.  Obviously I have emailed the professor asking him to take pity on the poor, stupid human being that I am.

So that’s problem set one.  Problem set two has to do with money.  Today I received an email from Paypal saying the tablet I ordered is being shipped to Sandy Blvd… that’s odd.  I didn’t order a tablet, and I’ve never heard about that.  Immediate panic.  Panic like, “oh my goodness, someone has stolen my credit card information and traveled to Bermuda and ordered an expensive electronic device with it.”  Like the semi-responsible adult-ish person I am, I called the credit card company pronto.  They assured me that no such charge had come through.  They suggested that maybe I had received a phishing email.  Some of you know what that means already.  The word sounded familiar to me, but I still had to ask.

Phishing, according to Dr. Google, is “the fraudulent practice of sending emails purporting to be from reputable companies in order to induce individuals to reveal personal information, such as passwords and credit card numbers.”  Oh, well lovely. Because I just gave Paypal exactly enough information to steal my identity.  I had the card canceled as a security measure.  I am temporarily credit card-less.  This is probably good for my financial health.

Problem number three, I’m just dead tired.  I have not slept a full night in two days.  I just woke up from a three hour nap, but that’s really not the same.  That’s like wanting a bowl of cereal and eating a protein bar instead because it’s more convenient.  NOT the same.

Life could be much, much worse.  I shouldn’t complain, but I already did.  About other things, I made a whole lot of jewelry last night.  Several bracelets done, and I started on two necklaces.  I decked out my jewelry display with probably around twenty-five pieces.  It was magnificent.

Something fun in fashion…have you heard of glow in the dark hair dye?  Let me start by saying I apologize if I have posted about this before (I think I have).  Now I’m going go more in depth with more pictures.  This is the coolest.  Thing.  EVER.  I low-key really want to try a streak in my hair.  Somewhere subtle, because the colors are generally freakishly bright.  I guess that’s so your head can properly “shine bright like a diamond” in the night.  I really dislike that song.  I might loath it; it was so overplayed.

Here’s a few pictures of the magnificence that is glow in the dark hair.  Also referred to as phoenix hair sometimes.  It’s phoenix hair when it uses the bright orange, pink, and yellow color palette.  I mean, with a name as awesome as phoenix, it has to be good.  You ready to take on the whole color wheel?  Do you regularly dig into a bowl of fruity pebbles?  Watch this video on how to sprout a rainbow on your head.   screen-shot-2017-04-05-at-6-53-13-pm-e1499502023322.png

Then there’s blue.  Some say you’ve got to live the blues to sing the blues.  Singer/ songwriter Halsey might agree.  Check out all of the music she’s ever produced; it’s all amazing.  The first link will take you to her 2017 album Hopeless Fountain Kingdom.  I would suggest listening to the songs in order to better understand the storyline, but it’s up to you.  You might want to listen to the non-acoustic version of “Eyes Closed”, too.  The second album is a playlist of 60 songs.  Some of the 60 are covers she has done, but I only found three videos on this playlist that Halsey isn’t singing in.  She’s easily one of my top five favorite artists.  The Soundcloud profile below does not belong to me.

Maybe this isn’t your thing, but I personally think it looks awesome.  I wouldn’t do my whole head.  I’m not that brave.  The bravest thing I ever did to my hair was dye it maroon my senior year of high school.  It was interesting.  I didn’t go in with intentions of doing my whole head.  I tried to do just the top partials.  Well, that looked dumb.  My friend told me to just dye my whole head to fix it.  I did.  It was brighter than I expected. It looked really cool in the sun, though.  I returned to my natural dark brown color late that summer.

If you want to try this trend, but you aren’t brave enough to go for the permanent solutions, there are temporary options.  Here is a website that may help you make a more educated decision about this new fad:  http://hair.knowfacts.org/hair-dye/glow-in-the-dark-hair-dye-gels-color-best-brands-splat-and-permanent-glow-in-the-dark-hair-color/ .

Screen Shot 2017-07-08 at 3.33.40 AM

If you’re taking a hard pass on the glowing hair, here are a few alternatives suggested by Elle.  I’m seeing boyish hair, curl-styling, faux perms, extra embellishments, very straight hair (hello again 90’s/ early 2000’s), the Bardot Fringe which looks like a boxy shag cut with big bangs to me, the epic return of the ponytail… did it ever really leave us?  The modern bob, green hair in case Kermit, Oscar the Grouch, or the environmental movement have always been your real MVPs, The Momu-Modern Mullet.  Ok mullet, you’re not fooling anyone here; call it momu, call it modern, call it majestic.  A mullet by any other name is STILL a mullet.

They also included neon/ glow in the dark hair.  See, what did I tell you.  Natural curls that aren’t actually natural at all, and conflicting colors.  By conflicting colors they mentioned white or darker than normal roots as an example.  Why, exactly, do I wish to look like a grandma or a skunk? Contour coloring, hair exfoliation, no hair-cut haircuts, as contradictory as that may seem, and finally, back to Balayage.  If you are like me and you understand what the term Balayage means about as much to you understand quantum physics, it is a free-hand color technique that creates a graduated color effect.  It looks quite a bit like what I recently did to my hair (this is a July 2017 edit).  Hopefully you think it’s pretty, too.

Screen Shot 2017-07-08 at 3.52.01 AMThe hair trends I could get behind include the following:  curl-styling, very straight hair, maybe the Bardot Fringe on some gals, the essential ponytail, the modern bob on anyone who doesn’t have an insanely large mouth like I do (trust me, it’s not a good combo), glow in the dark hair, ‘natural’ curls, think beachy or bedhead, that involve about a week’s worth of product in one sitting.  The fake natural curls thing brings to mind the phrase “act natural,” which people sometimes say before proceeding to do something totally out of the ordinary.  I also support contour coloring, hair exfoliation, no hair-cut haircuts because anything that is low maintenance screams my name, and Balayage.  I’m going to leave the others to the braver women among us.  Do you volunteer as tribute?

You can have glowing hair now.  Anything is possible in this day in age.  You want to be a star?  You can literally make your entire head light up the night like the star-bright, starlight that your soul is now.

 “Hair doesn’t make the woman, but good hair definitely helps,” – Nami with TRES.

Leave a Reply

