Color Me Disappointed

So, this Saturday was April 1st.  Did any of you get pranked?  I didn’t mean to, but I kind of pulled a prank on my followers.  It was not something I meant to do.  It was not something that made me happy.

I had to cancel my jewelry and painting party at the last minute.  I believe it was the day before…or possibly two days before.  I was counting on being able to find a venue for the party by April 1st.  This did not happen.  The procrastination monster struck again.  That pesky fellow is always getting in the way of my productivity.

Productivity bonus for me (close enough):  sign up for my mailing list for great deals! https://candidchloescloset.wufoo.com/forms/z1v9yejq1uwns3a/

Anyways, back to the story.  There I was, having promised about 75 followers a party, and no party was produced.  I felt bad, but honestly I only had about four people say they were going for sure. Technically that was before I rallied my non-Facebook oriented family, but still.  Four people is not the largest of target markets.  It could have been worse.

I feel the worst for my old babysitter who was considering driving up from Memphis to see me.  That’s a two hour drive.  I haven’t seen her in a very long time; I would still love to see her soon.  Here’s to you Delores Bean and Nikki Bland.

The party did not happen, and I need to make some sales in the worst way.  It’s bad.  As in dipping into my “do not touch this until you’re making some major life purchase money” for the first time ever, bad.

Oh well.  It’s there for an emergency.  I’d say being down to only double digits in my bank account is an emergency.  I know some of you are saying, “honey please, that’s my life on the daily.”  You have to understand that when I was ten years old I gathered up all of my Christmas money, Easter Change, and Birthday money from over the years and put it into a savings account.  I proceeded not to spend much of that money at all, while adding to it every year, until the age of fifteen or so. Until this tender age of twenty-two-years-old I’ve been a very financially stable person blessed with amazing parents and scholarships to support my lifestyle.

Now, I have officially entered the era of “broke college kid”.  I think I’m doing this wrong, I’m supposed to be broke probably around junior year and then get a big girl job by senior year.  Whoops.  I’m working on that big girl job.

Enough about me (sorry I’m rambling; this happens when I don’t sleep much) today I want to talk about how to market an event.  The inspiration behind this would be the fact that I did not have this event recently, but I do plan on trying again in June.  This time around, I won’t announce it until I have EVERYTHING locked down and ready to go.

Here are a few ideas:  tell all of your friends on Facebook, Instagram, your blog, your mailing list, Snapchat, and Twitter.  90% of people will ignore you; however, for most people all of their friends on social media makes for a very large, very diverse target market.  You can personalize who you invite to fit your event if that makes more sense for you.  Hint:  that makes more sense for most events.

Be careful where you have your event, especially if strangers will be showing up.  I didn’t want to have this event in my home because I was inviting several people I did not know very well.  Post flyers in public places.  Tell all of your family and close friends to spread the word for you.  Share your event post to said family and close friends’ pages if they don’t mind.  Make Facebook promotions work for you.  They usually get me up to around 400 views, sometimes more.  My normal, non-boosted posts generally only get single-digit views.  Sometimes I’ll get really lucky and hit over 50 though. I did not find Instagram’s promotional program to be very helpful, personally.

There is one marketing trick crafty salesmen have been using for decades, giveaways. These come in the forms of free things, discounts, raffles, treat-bags, etc.  Pamper your guests.  Reward them for taking the time out of their day to come to your event.  Also, have food and drinks.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; alcohol and shopping go together like bread and butter.  For the salesman, maybe not for the shoppers.  I know that sounds cheap and scummy, but I honestly think your guests would appreciate a free drink more than they would resent it.  Tailor the food and drinks to your particular audience.  You probably don’t need alcohol at the five-year-old’s birthday party. Well…maybe for the parents.

If you have any other ideas, feel free to comment them below!  I would love to hear from y’all.  I know there are other ideas out there, so here are a few websites to surf:

https://www.upwork.com/i/freelancer-categories/sales-marketing-professionals/?vt_cmp=653773136&vt_adg=34113401918&vt_src=google&vt_kw=%2Bmarketer&vt_device=c&gclid=CL2-2ZOTi9MCFc-2wAoddacH2w for if you actually want to hire someone to work your marketing problems out for you.

http://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2014/10/01/marketing-ideas-for-small-businesses this is more my speed and budget.

https://businesstown.com/articles/cheap-marketing-tricks-that-work/ easy on the wallet tricks.

http://www.adweek.com/creativity/9-subtle-marketing-tricks-we-fall-every-time-we-shop-159332/ sneaky sneaky.

One final tip, don’t scam your followers!  Treat them with respect. Cut them the best deal you possibly can while still turning a profit.  People will see through cheap, worthless products in a matter of seconds.  We have all been trained to sniff out scams, so don’t be a scammer! Customer Service is essential to any small business’s success.  Tell your story: the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.  “Good content isn’t about good storytelling. It’s about telling a true story well,” -Ann Handley.

Leave a Reply

